Oyo Governorship: Makinde coasts to victory, set to be declared winner by INEC - Thelocalreport.in

Governor Seyi Makinde of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) is set to be declared the winner of the Oyo State governorship election after the collation of results from all the 33 LGAs leaves him far ahead of his challengers.

Mr Makinde won in 31 local government areas with a total of 563,753 votes, according to a PREMIUM TIMES tally, about double the votes of his closest challenger, Teslim Folarin of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Mr Folarin won in only two local government areas, according to results announced by INEC at the state collation centre in Ibadan, the Oyo State capital.

ALSO READ: Oyo APC governorship candidate loses polling unit to PDP, Governor Makinde

The final results will be formally announced in the next few minutes by the INEC State Collation Officer, Adebayo Bamire.

Mr Bamire is the Vice Chancellor of Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, Osun State.

Details latest…

Support PREMIUM TIMES’ journalism of integrity and credibility

Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


ALSO READ  Army rescues abducted female commissioner in Cross River

TEXT AD: Call Willie – +2348098788999

TEXEM Advert

PT Mag Campaign AD

#Oyo #Governorship #Makinde #coasts #victory #set #declared #winner #INEC


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *