2023: Makinde on the way to be named Oyo Gov-elect after sweeping victory

Oyo State’s Governor Seyi Makinde has won in 31 of the 33 local government areas, in the state where governorship elections were held on Saturday.

The candidates were Adebayo Adelabu of Accord, Senator Teslim Folarin of the All Progressives Congress (APC), and Makinde, who is running for re-election on the PDP platform.

Read also:Oyo SDP governorship candidate steps down for Makinde

Also, according to the election results, Senator Teslim Folarin of the All Progressives Congress (APC) only prevailed in two local government districts.

This development suggests that INEC would name Makinde the election’s victor at the appropriate time.

Makinde will become the second governor in the state to hold office for two terms if he is certified the victor.

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *